Switzerland County Seal
NRCS District Conservationist

NRCS District Conservationist
Matt Jarvis

Board of Supervisors - SWCD

Ken Briggs - Chairman

John Schroer - Vice Chairman

Vice Chairman

David Schuler - Supervisor

Chase Kelso - Supervisor

Jeanette Andrew - Supervisor

David McCarty - Associate Supervisor

Ron Cutter - Associate Supervisor



105 East Pike Street
Vevay, In 47043


Mon - Fri - 8:00am - 4:00pm


The purpose of the SWCD is to provide information about soil, water, and related natural resources conservation; identify and prioritize local soil and water resource concerns; and connect land users to sources of education, technical and financial assistance, to implement conservation practices and technologies. Each district serves as a means for all interested people in a county to work for natural resource conservation and development.

To fulfill this responsibility, the SWCD works with local agencies, citizen groups, and individuals to correct existing problems, prevent new ones, and develop the community's natural resources to their proper and fullest uses.

A board of five supervisors who are acquainted with the resource needs and problems of the county manage the SWCD. Landowners of the county elect three of the supervisors and the Division of Soil Conservation appoints two. All supervisors serve without pay and reside in Switzerland County.

The SWCD does not have the power to tax or bond, does not have the power of eminent domain, and does not have any regulatory power. It cannot replace or duplicate function of the other local government units. Financing SWCD operations is accomplished through a combination of appropriations from state and local government units, money earned by SWCD activities, and contributions from private sources.


The Switzerland County SWCD was organized in 1944 in accordance with provisions of the Indiana Soil Conservation Act as passed by the General Assembly in 1937. The SWCD granted a certificate of organization by the Secretary of State on April 18, 1944, and is thereby a legal subdivision of state government, responsible for providing leadership for all conservation development of soil, water, and related natural resources for all of Switzerland County.


District Coordinator

Katie Collier - District Coordinator

District Technician

Cheryl Furnish - District Technician

Switzerland County, Indiana

Soil & Water
Conservation District

The mission of the Switzerland County Soil and Water Conservation District is to provide leadership and awareness in natural resources conservation and proper land use management through education, technical assistance, funding, and support of partnership personnel and land users.

Historic Hoosier Hills Watershed



12-05-18 - December Board Meeting

posted on 2018-11-01 by Katie Collier from soil-water-conservation-district

The SWCD board of supervisors meeting will take place on Wednesday, December 5th at the SWCD office located at 105 East Pike Street in Vevay. The meeting is open to the public.


[ close window ]